#PublicationDayPush #RachelsRandomResources @rararesources / #QandAs : A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores – Laura Briggs @PaperDollWrites

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free. –

BW2NUqFg

Today I’m on the ‘A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores’ blogtour, organised by Rachel’s Random Resources.
To promote this book I have a Q&As post, but before I let you read it first some ‘basic’ information.

About the Author :

sGNO490gLaura Briggs is the author of several feel-good romance reads, including the Top 100 Amazon UK seller ‘A Wedding in Cornwall’. She has a fondness for vintage style dresses (especially ones with polka dots), and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, caring for her pets, gardening, and seeing the occasional movie or play.

Social Media Links:
Twitter
Facebook page

Synopsis :

KR54UUgAIt looks like a perfect Cornish autumn, with aspiring novelist Maisie Clark still finding inspiration as a maid at the historic Penmarrow Hotel. Between the staff of quirky co-workers, glamorous and unusual guests, and her growing friendship with the charming but mysterious Sidney Daniels, Maisie is living out adventures instead of just penning them in the pages of her would-be novel’s growing number of chapters.
And then there’s the slight problem of keeping the balance between friendship and ‘something more’ with Sidney, who’s helping introduce her to the village’s version of a Cornish Halloween, and has recently taken an interest in Maisie’s secret that may change things between them. But even Maisie’s imagination can’t conjure the unusual event this Halloween brings to the Penmarrow. An eccentric earl has chosen this site to host his lavish birthday celebration that includes a pretty (and perceptive) young psychic whose predictions seem to have everyone on edge — and, to Maisie’s delight, the elusive novelist Alistair Davies is rumored to be part of the guest list! But with the earl’s bickering relatives and illustrious friends on hand— and more than one ghost of the past waiting to be revealed — it’s anyone’s guess what the festivities will bring before the party is over.
Will the psychic foretell doom for the earl’s gathering—and is her ‘gift’ as genuine as it seems? Will Maisie finally meet her favorite author face to face? And, more importantly, what about the romantic sparks that fly between Maisie and Sidney?

Purchase Links:
Amazon UK
Amazon US

Q&A :

Hi

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions, I really appreciate it. Here we go! 🙂

Can you, for those who don’t know you already, tell something about yourself and how you became an author?
Thanks so much for letting me share with your readers about my latest book, Stefanie! Growing up, I was an avid reader and later I ended up becoming an English major in college. My first published work came around 2010, a short romantic read about a bookstore owner and a dashing author titled Only in Novels. Since then, I’ve penned many other feel-good romance reads, including the UK series ‘A Wedding in Cornwall’.

Which books did/do you love to read as a child/now as a grown-up?
The works of Jane Austen and Agatha Christie are among my favourites both then and now. I also grew up loving classic adventure/romance stories like The Prisoner of Zenda and The Scarlett Pimpernel.

Is there an writer whose brain you would love to pick for advice? Who would that be and why?
Oooh, that’s a tough one! I don’t really know who or what I would ask specifically, but I do enjoy learning about the writing process of other authors. For instance, I have a version of Our Mutual Friend that has a copy of Charles Dickens’s original outline for the story printed in the back. I loved seeing all the stuff he ended up changing in the story as he wrote—fascinating stuff!

If you could, which fictional character (from your own book(s) or someone else’s) would you like to invite for tea and why?
Another tough question! But I think Miss Marple from Agatha Christie’s mysteries would be pretty amazing to chat with over tea—she would definitely have some interesting stories to tell!

Do you have some rituals or habits whilst writing?
Not really. I work on a laptop, sometimes with a music playlist or maybe some television in the background.

Where do you come up with your idea(s)? Do people in your life need to be worried? 😉
Ha, ha, no! I hardly ever draw inspiration for characters from anyone I actually know. Fictional characters in other books or in movies can serve as inspiration, though.

Are you a plotter or do you go with the flow, as a pantser?
I’m a plotter. I almost always have an outline, whether it’s a few lines on paper or a chapter-by-chapter breakdown in a computer document.

Can you give novice writers some tips (do’s/don’ts)?
I would say write something you really do enjoy, because that can make such a difference when it comes to marketing your work and connecting with your readers.

What are your futureplans as an author?
For now, I’m focusing on more books for my series ‘A Little Hotel in Cornwall’, including a Christmas one coming later this year!

Last, but not least : Can you give my readers one teaser from your book, which is featured here on my blog, please?
Mysterious happenings, a famous psychic’s predictions, an earl’s lavish birthday party—and a few romantic sparks for Maisie and Sidney— make for a Halloween to remember in A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores.

Isn’t that a great reason to pick up this book and to find out more?!
Thanks once again for this lovely interview, Laura Briggs.

Giveaway:

Win one of 3 Cornish themed prizes (Open Internationally)
1st Prize: A Ross Poldark collectible Knitdark character doll (Open Internationally) – 1 winner
Perfect for fans of all-things Cornwall, this Ross Poldark doll with tricorn hat is made by Angela Blay, whose popular Knitdark creations have been featured on The Graham Norton Show. Since each doll is hand made, the Ross the winner receives may vary slightly in appearance from the one in the picture. Readers can learn more about the Knitdarks at Angela’s Twitter page @kwerkyknits as well as her Etsy shop at https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/kwerkyknits

erMElooA
2nd Prize: A decorative tin T.A.R.D.I.S (Open Internationally) – 1 winner
A tin T.A.R.D.I.S similar to the keepsake Maisie is gifted by Sidney in Book 1, A Little Hotel in Cornwall. Designed by Etsy artist KittyConduitt81 and perfect for fans of Doctor Who! Being a unique, hand made item, the final design may vary slightly in appearance from the one pictured. Learn about KittyConduittDesigns on Etsy at https://www.etsy.com/shop/KittyConduittDesigns

BlZjaBpQ
3rd Prize: A Kindle/Tablet case featuring cover art from A Little Hotel in Cornwall (Open Internationally) – 1 winner
A specially designed case for a Kindle or Tablet featuring the cover art for Book 1 in the series A Little Hotel in Cornwall. The final product’s size, texture, and color will depend on the winner’s device.

Go6C3wnw
*All 3 winners will also receive a digital copy of Book 1 in the series, A Little Hotel in Cornwall.
*Terms and Conditions – Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

 

 

 

P.S. Are you an author (or publisher) who also wants a FREE interview like this? You can always contact me via e-mail!

 

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google photo

Je reageert onder je Google account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Twitter-afbeelding

Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s