#BooksOnTour @bookouture / #Review : Murder on the Dance Floor (A Miss Underhay Mystery #4) #MurderontheDanceFloor – Helena Dixon @NellDixon #NetGalley

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free.
I’m grateful of receiving a free copy from the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review of this book. –

Murder On The Dance Floor - BT Poster

About the Author :

DSC_7063 copyNell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Social Media Links:
Website
Facebook 
Twitter 

Synopsis :

Murder-on-the-Dance-Floor-KindleKitty Underhay’s dance card is full… of death.
November 1933. Amateur sleuth-cum-dutiful granddaughter Kitty Underhay stifles a sigh of boredom as she attends the annual Hoteliers’ Association Dinner and Dance on behalf of her grandmother, the proprietress of the Dolphin Hotel. She hopes the company of ex-army captain Matthew Bryant will enliven the otherwise dull evening. That is, until bullish and overbearing local councillor Harold Everton drops dead into his bowl of consommé.
While the local police are still scrambling for their whistles, Kitty and Matt waste no time leaping into action. Soon they find themselves caught up a dangerous search to uncover who amongst the distinguished guests used cyanide for seasoning?
When their digging throws light on a corruption scandal brewing in the local council involving Everton’s assistant Thomas King, they are sure they’ve cracked the case. But before he can be questioned further, King’s body is found in a smouldering car wreck. Meanwhile, the murderer has made a sinister plan to avoid detection or punishment, and it will lead Kitty and Matt into a dangerous dance with death…

A fast, fun and utterly unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Amazon

Review :

‘Murder on the Dance Floor’ by Helena Dixon is the 4th book in the ‘Miss Underhay Mystery’ series and if you, like me, haven’t read the other books I would like to recommend that you do this first.
It’s not that this story can’t be read as a stand-alone, but you’ll spoil the fun of the previous ones and that would definitely be a bummer as this one was, for me at least, very enjoyable.
I liked the dynamics between all the characters, but I certainly liked it between Kitty and Matt, the main characters, who alternately tell the story.
Of course you have to see the book in the setting it’s written in, the early 30’s, but it’s great to read how they evolve together and it’s a splendid storyline beside the mysteries.
Yes, mysteries, no typo there, as there’s not only a murder mystery going on, but also another mystery, which I believe is also a bit of a common thread running through all the previous books.
Another reason to enjoy all the books in order and I promise you won’t be disappointed as this one was already unputdownable!
Great read during these dreadful days with lots of rain, dark hours,… with of course a nice cup of tea with some cake.
Can’t wait to read the next installment, but first the prior ones naturally!

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Twitter-afbeelding

Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s