#BlogTour #RandomThingsTours @RandomTTours / #QandAs : Restless Dead #RestlessDead #DCIHarryGrimm – David Gatward @davidgatward

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free. –

Today I’m on the ‘Restless Dead’ blogtour, organized by Random Things Tour.
To promote this book I have a Q&As post, but before I let you read it first some ‘basic’ information.

About the Author :

David J. Gatward lives in Somerset and is the award-winning author of the DCI Harry Grimm crime novels, and the Padre horror trilogy. He has also written numerous books for children, teenagers and young adults.

Facebook
Twitter

Synopsis :

• ASIN ‏ : ‎ B093RZGH5C
• Publisher ‏ : ‎ Independently published (29 April 2021)
• Language ‏ : ‎ English
• Paperback ‏ : ‎ 290 pages
• ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 979-8742125907

Be careful what you wish for.
When no nonsense retired Army Colonel James Fletcher starts seeing his recently deceased wife around the house again, his friends and family are more than a little worried.But when James turns up dead, and the accident that killed him is found to be anything but, DCI Harry Grimm and his team must uncover the grisly truth before anyone else falls prey.In a house torn in two by ghosts and betrayal, Harry may soon find that death isn’t always the end. Sometimes, it’s only the beginning . . .
Restless Dead is the fifth book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J.R. Ellis, Margaret Mayhew, Jeanne M. Dams, J. M. Dalgliesh, Roger Silverwood, J. D. Kirk, Adam Croft, and Simon McCleave

Amazon

Q&A :

Hi

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions, I really appreciate it. Here we go! 🙂
A pleasure!

Can you, for those who don’t know you already, tell something about yourself and how you became an author?
Oooh, the hard ones first, eh? I’m David J. Gatward, and tbh I think I’ve always wanted to be a writer, certainly from primary school. English was my favourite subject, loved telling stories. I did I year out between A-Levels and Uni, during which I worked at an outdoor centre, and had my first book published. Then I went to college to study outdoor eduction, after which I took on various publishing roles. My first children’s fiction was published in 2009, then I wrote various children’s and teen/YA books, as well as ghostwriting some for a properly famous person. Now I write crime full time and I love it!

Which books did/do you love to read as a child/now as a grown-up?
As a child/teen, Dr Seuss, anything by Alan Garner, Asterix, Wilard Price, the Dragonlance Chronicles. Now? Jeepers, I’m all over the place! Sometimes I’ll read action stuff, next I’m into horror, then sci-fi, crime… I’m a member of a horror book club (The Abominable Book Club) so I get a monthly collection of creepy words, which is nice. I’ve usually got a couple of books on the go.

Is there a writer whose brain you would love to pick for advice? Who would that be and why?
Agatha Christie, simply because she completely nailed the who whodunnit genre. But there are others: Clive Barker, Gary A. Braunbeck, Stephen King, Susan Hill…

If you could, which fictional character (from your own book(s) or someone else’s) would you like to invite for tea and why?
My books? Well, there was this alcoholic angel in my teen ‘Dead’ trilogy, who was quite fun, and an undead priest called Abaddon, just because they have crazy stories to tell. I think Matt would be great from the Grimm series because he’s just such a dependable, great bloke, and I think it would be a laugh. Someone else’s book? Hoon, from JD Kirk’s ‘Logan’ series, because that man is a nutjob!

Do you have some rituals or habits whilst writing?
Only that I usually write with music on. That’s about it.

Where do you come up with your idea(s)? Do people in your life need to be worried? 😉
Ideas come from everywhere. I research stuff (so I’m in the thick of researching dog fights and sheep rustling), watch a lot of films, read, think, dream, but also just force myself to come up with stuff. This is my job, it’s my livelihood, so no time for being all pretentious about it: crack on, Gatward! As for people in my life being worried? Well, a few of us authors have known each other for years, so we do like to kill each other off in our books now and again. And Aled Jones is a mate, so I decided to kill a famous singer who used to be a choirboy!

Are you a plotter or do you go with the flow, as a pantser?
Yes. By which I mean, I’m both! I plot, I write random chapters, I go by the seat of my pants, I let my characters take control. It’s a bit messy, but it works.

Can you give novice writers some tips (do’s/don’ts)?
Read. Read. Read. Keep reading. Read some more. Read. Think you’ve learned enough? Wrong! Keep reading! And write. Write a lot. Write a little. But write. A friend said to me once that knowing me had really shown them what being a writer is all about. At the time I wasn’t exactly doing well, hadn’t had anything published for years, and yet I still wrote. It’s what I did, it’s what I do. It’s as important as breathing. Writers don’t constantly talk about writing a book, coming up with excuses as to why they haven’t, how they need to take six months off to just get it done, because they actually just write. For fun. That’s where it begins: you do it because you love it.

What are your futureplans as an author?
I’m keeping on with Grimm for a good while yet and would love to get to 24 books in the series. I’ve another crime idea that I want to explore, set in the Lake District (I lived in Ambleside for four years). That’s it, really, just to keep on writing books readers enjoy. I’m not trying to win prizes or be world famous or any of that. My aim is to simply write a decent yarn filled with characters that readers not only buy into for one book, but want to follow through subsequent stories.

Last, but not least : Can you give my readers one teaser from your book, which is featured here on my blog, please?
Well, two romances blossom, but not the ones you expect (assuming you’ve read the other books in the series!) and the detective sergeant, Matt, has some life-changing news by the end (news that even I didn’t see coming, to be honest!) How’s that?

Isn’t that a great reason to pick up this book and to find out more?!
Thanks once again for this lovely interview, David Gatward.

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

P.S. Are you an author (or publisher) who also wants a FREE interview like this? You can always contact me via e-mail!

Een gedachte over “#BlogTour #RandomThingsTours @RandomTTours / #QandAs : Restless Dead #RestlessDead #DCIHarryGrimm – David Gatward @davidgatward

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google photo

Je reageert onder je Google account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Twitter-afbeelding

Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s