#BlogTour #ZooloosBookTours @zooloo2008 / #Review : The Engine House (DCI Evan Warlow Crime Thriller Book 1) #TheEngineHouse – Rhys Dylan @RdylanBooks

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free.
I’m grateful of receiving a free copy from the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review of this book. –

The Engine House Book Tour Poster

About the Author :

Rhys Dylan Author PhotoRhys Dylan was born and grew up in west Wales, went away to university in London, but came back to live and work in his country of birth. Along the way he indulged his imagination by writing books for children and adults under various pennames and in a variety of genres.
2021 sees him turning his hand once more to crime with DCI Evan Warlow in the Black Beacons crime series. Spread over 500 square miles, the Brecon Beacons mountain range sits like a giant doorstop at the heads of the South Wales valleys. To the north and west, they nestle in the crook of the ancient kingdoms of Powys and Dyfed, stretching from the eastern Marches to the wild southwestern coast. Many of the mountain peaks in the range have names. Others are simply referred to as black. It is in this timeless landscape that the books are set.
Rhys lives on the edge of the Beacons with his wife and a dog that doesn’t like the rain.

Website
Instagram
Facebook
Twitter

Synopsis :

The Engine House Book CoverYou can bury the bodies, but you can’t hide the truth.
When a landslip on Pembrokeshire’s stunning coastal path reveals the harrowing remains of two bodies, ex-DCI Evan Warlow’s quiet retirement is shattered.
As the original investigator for the two missing persons eight years before, Evan is recalled to help with what is now a murder inquiry. But as the killer scrambles to cover up the truth, the body count rises.
Working with a new young team, Warlow peels away the layers to reveal the dark and rotten heart that beats beneath the chocolate box tranquillity of an area renowned for its quiet beauty.
But does he still have what it takes to root out the monstrous truth before all hell lets loose?
The Engine House is the gripping debut crime thriller set in the heart of wild Wales from author Rhys Dylan. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk. JM Dalgliesh and Simon McCleave. Celtic noir with a spatter of dark humour.

Buy Links:
Amazon UK
Amazon US

Review :

I love reading police procedurals and when there’s a new cop in town I’m always keen to meet them.
This was certainly true with DCI Evan Warlow, who although recently retired, gets back on the horse by consulting on a case he never solved whilst on the job.
He’s a really great character with a lovely sense of humor and of course the necessary dark clouds in his life.
Together with old and new colleagues he dives into the case and although I think the police part of the book is very good I was a bit disappointed in the connection between the other parts of the book which leaves me with a feeling that the culprit(s) and the ending were a bit sudden/out of the blue … .
It’s a debut so I understand there’s room for improvement and this would be it, in my opinion.
A bit more weaving throughout the book to get to a better connection between the whole story would make it an even greater book than it already is!
But that’s really the only thing that I struggled with as I love the author’s style of writing, the setting, the atmosphere and the main characters.
I definitely would like to get this team back together in the future and go on more adventures with them and unravel the secret of DCI Evan Warlow.

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Twitter-afbeelding

Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s