#BooksOnTour @bookouture / #PromoPost : Murder at the Wedding (A Miss Underhay Mystery Book 7) #MurderAtTheWedding – Helena Dixon @NellDixon

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free. –

murder-at-the-wedding-banner

Today I’m on the ‘Murder at the Wedding’ blogtour, organized by Bookouture.
To promote this book I have a some ‘basic’ information for you.

About the Author :

DSC_7063 copyHelena Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. Helena was the RNA winner of the Romance Prize in 2007 and Love Story of the Year 2010.

Social Media Links:
Instagram
Twitter 

Synopsis :

murder-at-the-wedding-cover’Till death do us part may come sooner than they thought…
1934. Kitty Underhay steps out of the battered Rolls Royce and onto the gravelled driveway of Thurscomb Castle in deepest Yorkshire. She’s honoured to be a bridesmaid at her cousin Lucy’s wedding to the reluctant Lord Rupert Woodcomb, but as family and friends gather for welcome drinks, Kitty dodges intrusive questions about her own marital status by taking a stroll about the castle grounds. As she passes through the manicured gardens, a fatal shot rings out…
The valet, Evans, is dead. And Kitty can’t help but notice how rattled the man standing next to him seems. Could Rupert’s best man, The Right Honourable Alexander ‘Sandy’ Galsworthy, believe the speeding bullet was meant for him?
When she discovers that Sandy has been receiving blackmail notes, Kitty suspects that one of the assembled guests has plans to make good on their threats. The local constabulary won’t act on Kitty’s hunch, so, busy with her bridesmaid’s duties, she asks her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, to help.
The ceremony passes without a hitch. But when an anxious Sandy slips away during the dancing, Matt follows, only to make a hideous discovery: Sandy is dead, flattened on the terrace by some falling masonry.
Now the duo are sure that there is a murderer within the castle walls. But can they untangle Sandy’s final hours and catch this killer before they strike again, or will the wedding bells be replaced by a death knell for Kitty herself…?

A completely charming and unputdownable cozy historical Golden Age murder mystery! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Buy Link

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

#BooksOnTour @bookouture / #Review : Murder at Elm House (A Miss Underhay Mystery #6) #MurderAtElmHouse – Helena Dixon @NellDixon #NetGalley

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free.
I’m grateful of receiving a free copy from the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review of this book. –

About the Author :

DSC_7063 copyNell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Social Media Links:
Website
Facebook 
Twitter 

Synopsis :

Kitty Underhay feels the touch… of death.
1934. Accidental amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay is being escorted by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant on an errand of mercy, as she takes a basket of grapes to her nemesis Mrs Craven, who is recuperating from a recent operation. But their arrival at Elm House Nursing Home coincides with the mysterious death of Lady Wellings, a long-term resident.
The woman was known to be ill, so when the police turn a disinterested ear to Mrs Craven’s suspicion that Lady Wellings was poisoned, Kitty decides to look into the case herself. And when another invalid, the gentle Mrs Pearson, collapses fatally in the breakfast room, it seems her suspicions are well-founded. For an institution promising health and rejuvenation, there seems to be a very low survival rate amongst the guests!
When the nurse Eloise Hibbert hints at sinister goings on among the staff, Kitty arranges to meet her away from the home to uncover how deep the treachery lies. However, before she can make the rendezvous, Eloise meets an unfortunate end falling from the top of the building. Was she pushed by the hand of fate, or a cold-blooded killer?
Meanwhile, Matt has been following an entirely different trail of evidence, and what he finds out chills him to the bone. When Kitty fails to return from her unsuccessful meeting, it is clear she has stumbled onto a plot far more devious than they could have imagined, and into a trap laid by an unscrupulous killer…

An utterly sensational and addictive Golden Age murder mystery. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Amazon

Review :

‘Murder at Elm House’ isn’t my first Miss Underhay book, so needless to say I really enjoy this series!
This new installment was read in no-time as it so wonderful written with alternating POVs and short chapters, often with a cliffhanger, to make you turn the pages.
The characters are also greatly drawn, they all get the right amount of story-time to get to know them and so you can either love or distaste them.
Kitty, the main character, is certainly loveable as she is my kind of woman : smart, independent and definitely stubborn.
She’s by far the best female sleuth I’ve met in a long time and I love how she and Matt interact with each other, they’re such a great couple.
This book was again a very entertaining read and I would love to see how it all develops further.
I can’t wait to read new books in this, hopefully long lasting, series.

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

#BooksOnTour @bookouture / #Review : Murder on the Dance Floor (A Miss Underhay Mystery #4) #MurderontheDanceFloor – Helena Dixon @NellDixon #NetGalley

– ‘The Magic of Wor(l)ds’ blog is a hobby, reviews and other bookish stuff on this site are done for free.
I’m grateful of receiving a free copy from the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review of this book. –

Murder On The Dance Floor - BT Poster

About the Author :

DSC_7063 copyNell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Social Media Links:
Website
Facebook 
Twitter 

Synopsis :

Murder-on-the-Dance-Floor-KindleKitty Underhay’s dance card is full… of death.
November 1933. Amateur sleuth-cum-dutiful granddaughter Kitty Underhay stifles a sigh of boredom as she attends the annual Hoteliers’ Association Dinner and Dance on behalf of her grandmother, the proprietress of the Dolphin Hotel. She hopes the company of ex-army captain Matthew Bryant will enliven the otherwise dull evening. That is, until bullish and overbearing local councillor Harold Everton drops dead into his bowl of consommé.
While the local police are still scrambling for their whistles, Kitty and Matt waste no time leaping into action. Soon they find themselves caught up a dangerous search to uncover who amongst the distinguished guests used cyanide for seasoning?
When their digging throws light on a corruption scandal brewing in the local council involving Everton’s assistant Thomas King, they are sure they’ve cracked the case. But before he can be questioned further, King’s body is found in a smouldering car wreck. Meanwhile, the murderer has made a sinister plan to avoid detection or punishment, and it will lead Kitty and Matt into a dangerous dance with death…

A fast, fun and utterly unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Amazon

Review :

‘Murder on the Dance Floor’ by Helena Dixon is the 4th book in the ‘Miss Underhay Mystery’ series and if you, like me, haven’t read the other books I would like to recommend that you do this first.
It’s not that this story can’t be read as a stand-alone, but you’ll spoil the fun of the previous ones and that would definitely be a bummer as this one was, for me at least, very enjoyable.
I liked the dynamics between all the characters, but I certainly liked it between Kitty and Matt, the main characters, who alternately tell the story.
Of course you have to see the book in the setting it’s written in, the early 30’s, but it’s great to read how they evolve together and it’s a splendid storyline beside the mysteries.
Yes, mysteries, no typo there, as there’s not only a murder mystery going on, but also another mystery, which I believe is also a bit of a common thread running through all the previous books.
Another reason to enjoy all the books in order and I promise you won’t be disappointed as this one was already unputdownable!
Great read during these dreadful days with lots of rain, dark hours,… with of course a nice cup of tea with some cake.
Can’t wait to read the next installment, but first the prior ones naturally!

The Magic of Wor(l)ds